20 Comments
Dec 21, 2022Liked by JAKE WOOLF

Personally, I have already made significant changes over the last year.

1. Moved away from tighter, even skinny jeans in exchange for a looser fit. This was a big one for me because I have been wearing jeans and pants like this for a while. That said, I still have fitted jeans and pants that I will wear.

2. Grasped the rule of thirds concept and stuck to it. Being a shorter person, I think this is an important one. Most of my recent jacket investments have been into cropped pieces. When I do wear a longer jacket, I make sure the base layer accentuates my waist.

3. Moved almost entirely away from sneakers. I sold all of my Nike/Jordan sneakers this year. My current rotation now includes Oree NYC Derby, Camion Boot, Margiela GAT, New Balance 2002R, Danner Mountain Light II, and a pair black of loafers. The first two are by far my most worn. I feel this rotation is perfect for me, I have no desire for another pair of shoes.

P.S love your content. Inspired me to get the big wool overcoat. Wasn’t double breasted, but it fit me perfectly off the rack from the thrift and cost me only $50 (80% wool, 20% cashmere), so I couldn’t pass it up.

Expand full comment

ROA footwear/apparel for 2023 is the one

Expand full comment

My resolution this year is to become more comfortable with sharing pics of my fits. I’ve never felt confident in the past, but I’m working on it for 2023.

Expand full comment
Dec 25, 2022·edited Dec 25, 2022

lowkey this is the first year i actually feel good for the entire year about what i've been wearing/the state of my wardrobe rn. i didn't get that much new shit in 2022 and have kinda locked in what silhouettes i like for myself + their ideal measurements for my body & i'm just kinda rocking with that moving forward until that changes. still vvv into wide + high/deep rise bottoms with shorter + either wider or slimmer tops, they're all really accepting silhouettes that work well together. always looking to thin things out bc always too many clothes, also gonna make more of my own pieces this next year to get better at it + have things that exactly suit what i need at that time

re: changes, i wanna play around more with footwear, i'm gonna try some wilder 90's retro hoop shoes (maybe getting all star air penny 1 for xmas, if i don't i'll either get those or black stussy air penny 2) and like chunky derbies (got the Orée Morgans, love them so far but the leather is super stiff, i had to sand down the ankle collar area bc so sharp and now they're calm) and see how i like them, last couple years i've been a heavy loafer/shoe/boot guy (black Larson weejuns, olive/brown Camion boots, lemaire center seam slipper mostly) with some super basic standard-issue sneakers here and there (black adidas Superstar, black adidas Samba, less basic but yellow/burgundy Kiko Gel-Nimbus 9's that i still don't really know how to wear) but with the bigger pants i've been wearing the last couple years they accept pretty much any shoe silhouette so i wanna see how i like some different things

sick ass pieces i loved this year

- acne 1989 jeans, they discontinued the cut starting this most recent season but super comfortable wide/baggy cut

- wales bonner kwaku jeans, they're from a year ago but so so good as a wearable high waisted wide leg trouser

- gildan heavy cotton youth blank, really short + slimmer tee that i've been wearing daily

- everybody.world boxier trash tee, good vintage style boxy wide shorter tee blank

- leather blousons

- wool or wool/leather varsity jackets with point collars

- levi's type 2 jacket

- petrified good hats. really nice fitting vintage snapbacks, have some natural flex to the brim once ur wearing it

- adidas samba adv. i don't believe in dropping much money on non-resoleable shoes and the skate versions are so much nicer than the samba OG, i had a white pair a couple years ago that were mad floppy & flimsy after breaking them in. adv's have been my everyday shoe in CA for a while now

pieces i'm looking to find more things like/improve upon

- yeezy gap hoodie, it's the best fitting one i've found but the quality is whatever it's really heavy and he's bozo of the year ofc. any good short hoodie recs i'm all ears

- good shorter wider sweaters made of wool/wool blend situations for the winter

- also anywhere that has good vintage tees for the low/lower, hard to have too many if they fit well

2023 i wanna see the big pant thing permeate wider into the world, i want us to stop making every standard issue top way too fucking long for no good reason, i wanna see more wild belts, more wife respecter/tank top options that fit well + age better than the Hanes joints, and i want people to smell better. also stupid sunglasses i want that to keep going that's super fun

big up clothes are fun and cool

Expand full comment

I wanna focus on materials - like a brolic ass hoodie from Lady White Co- just heavy thick shit you know 100 percent cotton vibes things that wear in super nice like a Barbour n all that thick denim all that

Expand full comment

Replace all bottoms with flares. Flare supremacy in 2023

Expand full comment

Honestly, I'm seeing a lot of baggy, wide fitting pants paired with large shoes. I used to be pretty into that the past few years but seeing it on everybody has turned me off - I feel like Balenciaga definitely contributed to this trend. That's why I'm moving towards a more tailored look this year. I'm talking casual suiting paired with straight denim, Bruce Willis in the 90's vibes. The baggy, oversized look is veering towards trendy Tik Tok category and it's a shame. Not saying it's entirely bad but I feel like the coming year we're going to move towards more tailored, well-fitting garments.

Expand full comment

Move away from wearing sneakers as often and into loafers, boots and derbies.

Expand full comment

For sure want to play with pants proportions. I got some 90's RL pleated hammonds based on a rec from The Bengal Stripe and excited to give 'em a whirl versus my usual/go-to Levis

Expand full comment